Inductions At The National Women's Hall Of Fame

Oct 12, 2013

Ceremonies will be held Saturday in Seneca Falls as nine women are inducted into the National Women’s Hall of Fame.

Founded in 1969, the Hall is the nation’s oldest membership organization recognizing the achievements of great American women.  Inductees are selected every other year based on their lasting contributions to society through the arts, athletics, business, education, government, humanities, philanthropy and science. 

The National Women’s Hall of Fame 2013 inductees include: House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi; former First Lady Betty Ford, who died in 2011; Ina May Gaskin, who is a professional midwife and known as the “mother of authentic midwifery; horse racing jockey Julie Krone;  Kate Millett, who is a  feminist activist, writer, visual artist, filmmaker, teacher and human rights advocate; Mother Mary Joseph Rogers, founder of the Maryknoll Sisters; Bernice Resnick Sandler, an advocate of educational equity for women and girls; Anna Jacobson Schwartz, a research economist who died in 2012; and Emma Hart Willard, who founded the first school of higher learning for women in 1821 in Troy, NY.

The National Women’s Hall of Fame has inducted 247 women since its inception. Listen for coverage this weekend to AM 1370 WXXI and www.wxxinews.org